Job Interviews, Am I ready?

I’m constantly learning in classes how to promote companies, non-profit organizations, and people and how to communicate for them. When I’m coming up with strategies for others it’s fun and exciting to endorse a good cause. The more I learn about Public Relations, I realize that activities I do in class directly relate to what I should do for myself in the interviewing process. After reading other blogs about public relations I thought about how I need to market myself and applied what I learned from Mickie Kennedy’s list of what not to do.

Social media is such a huge part of a PR plan today and essential to most campaigns. As I head into the real world I’m constantly think about what I need to do to get a job. I question if there are things I do that hurt my chances of getting hired, so one of the first things I did was “clean” up my Facebook. What does this mean? I look down any picture that I wouldn’t want to be on the front page of a newspaper. This is the same advice I would give to any client, and I wanted to take my own advice. I think that any company and or person entering the real world should use the Internet to their advantage, not a platform for negative images. I know the importance of transparency in this business, so I don’t want to hide information, but instead only do things I’m proud of. I’m relatively new to Twitter and Pinterest and use these tools to show potential employers why they should hire me.

Events are also popular strategies that PR practitioners use to support a cause, and I compare an event to an interview. An interview is my time to show and communicate my story. I want to use my portfolio as a tool to explain my path through the school of journalism at the University of Oregon. I feel like I have a variety of material that I want to explain what I have learned during the last four years. I also want to use this time to tell my story about sports and how it has influenced my life. As important as my education is to me, I think that my experience with sports is equality as significant to what I can bring to sports industry PR.

February 21, 2012. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

